The Agency

We represent non-Francophone publishing houses and literary agencies all around the world and handle the translation rights sales of their works in the French-speaking market. We also manage a small selection of authors (as of November 2022, we are no longer accepting new submissions. We hope to be back soon, stay tuned for updates).

 

The majority of our clients come from the English-speaking world, but we also have clients in Italy, Greece, and Turkey. Featured on our list of clients are literary agencies, university presses, large publishing groups, and small independent houses. We read English French, and Scandinavian languages.

 

Given this diverse clientele, our titles, whether they cater to adults or young readers, are not only varied in their form – fiction, non-fiction, academic works, illustrated books, poetry – but also in their content: they span the entire spectrum of genres from hard science to science fiction, as well as history and politics, social justice, guidebooks and how-to, fantasy, crime fiction, commercial and upmarket novels, psychology, philosophy, feminist and queer literature, and much more! We warmly invite you to peruse the titles in our selections and client catalogues for a more specific idea of the types of works we represent.

 

If you think your books can travel and are interested in working a French co-agent, please contact us.

The Team

CorinneHappy_edited_edited_edited_edited

Corinne Marotte

I created Marotte et Compagnie in early 2020 after over twenty years of experience in rights sales (Agence Michelle Lapautre; L'Autre agence) and publishing (Robert Laffont). I have a soft-spot for non-fiction, especially narrative non-fiction. I like novels and other stories as well, as long as they've got a strong voice.I love unlikely encounters between worlds, and the poetry and emotion that can arise from such situations.

Agent · Founder

Hanna_edited.jpg

Hanna Thoren

Born and raised in Sweden, I’m currently living in Jordan. Before that, I was in France for ten years, where I studied Modern Literature before starting work as an agent with Corinne in 2015. Having recently taken my studies back up, I’ve narrowed my focus at the agency to youth and children's literature as well as a few adult catalogues. I love books that surprise me, and I’m definitely not afraid of the weird ones!

Agent

Celine_edited_edited_edited.jpg

Céline Jézéquel

I joined Marotte et Compagnie in February 2021 where I am responsible for contracts. This work is a complement to my other job as Junior Editor at Éditions Premier Parallèle. I read fiction, mainly novels, and essays. I tend to gravitate towards queer, feminist and intersectional issues in my readings, but above all I appreciate powerful and unexpected voices.

Contracts

L'agence

Nous représentons des maisons d'édition et agences littéraires étrangères, pour la cession des droits de traduction de leurs ouvrages sur le marché francophone, ainsi qu’une sélection d’auteurs qui nous ont confié leurs textes (depuis début novembre 2022, et pour une durée indéterminée, nous ne prenons plus de nouveaux auteurs).

 

La majorité de nos clients se trouve dans le monde anglophone, notamment aux États-Unis et en Grande-Bretagne, mais nous en avons aussi en Grèce, Italie, ou Turquie. Parmi eux figurent des presses universitaires, des agences littéraires, de grands groupes éditoriaux ainsi que des maisons indépendantes.

À l’image de cette diversité, les titres que nous défendons en adulte ou en jeunesse sont très variés tant dans leur forme — essais, travaux académiques, fictions, beaux-livres, poèmes — que dans leur fond : de la science pure à la science-fiction, en passant par l’histoire, la politique militante, le pratique, la fantasy, le polar, la philosophie et bien d’autres encore ! Nous vous invitons à feuilleter nos sélections et les catalogues de nos clients — vous tomberez sûrement sur votre coup de cœur !

 

Vous souhaitez acquérir les droits de traduction d’un ou plusieurs de nos livres ? N’hésitez pas à nous demander le(s) texte(s) ou de plus amples renseignements sur la disponibilité des droits. Vous pourrez ensuite faire une offre, que nous présenterons à notre client au terme de négociations, et éventuellement d’enchères. En cas d’accord, vous pourrez compter sur nous pour la rédaction du contrat qui formalisera la cession de droits ainsi que pour le suivi jusqu’à la publication de l’ouvrage et sa vente au public. 

La compagnie

CorinneHappy_edited_edited_edited_edited

Corinne Marotte

J’ai créé Marotte et Compagnie début 2020 après vingt-trois ans d’expérience dans la cession de droits (Agence Michelle Lapautre ; L’Autre agence) et l’édition (Robert Laffont). J’aime la non-fiction, particulièrement narrative, et les récits, fictionnels ou non, mais toujours incarnés et généreux, la rencontre parfois inattendue entre des mondes, la poésie et l’émotion qui peuvent en surgir.

Agente · Fondatrice

Hanna_edited.jpg

Hanna Thoren

D’origine suédoise, j’ai vécu en France pendant dix ans, où j’ai étudié les Lettres Modernes avant de commencer à travailler en tant qu'agente avec Corinne en 2015. Ayant repris mes études, je me concentre sur les catalogues jeunesse et quelques catalogues adultes. J’aime les livres qui me surprennent, et tandis que je n’ai pas peur de l’étrange, j’ai horreur du surtravaillé. 

Agente

Celine_edited_edited_edited.jpg

Céline Jézéquel

J’ai rejoint Marotte et Compagnie en février 2021 et m’y occupe des contrats en complément de mon poste d’assistante éditoriale aux éditions Premier Parallèle. Je suis lectrice de fiction, des romans principalement, et d’essais. J’aime retrouver dans mes lectures les problématiques queer, féministes, et intersectionnelles, mais surtout des voix puissantes et inattendues.

Gestion des contrats